Monday, January 28, 2013

Let the Book Club Begin!

On Monday, January 28th, the American Library Association presented their 2013 Youth Media Awards, which include the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, among many others.

2013 is a special year for the Randolph Caldecott Medal. It has been awarded for 75 years to "the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children."

What better way to begin a book club for children's literature than to share our favorite Caldecott award winners?

Topic #1: The Caldecott Medal
Post between January 30, 2013 and February 27, 2013

1. Choose a picture book that won a Caldecott Award or Caldecott Honor.
2. Share the title, author/illustrator, publication year, and the reason for your choice on the book club Google Groups page HERE.
3. Feel free to comment/discuss!

No comments:

Post a Comment